Macaroon of the month   What's new   Recipes by Yannick Lefort   Awards   Press coverage   Addresses and useful links 
 


Yannick Lefort sees himself first and foremost as a craftsman who loves beauty, quality and authenticity.


He doesn't claim to be the Modigliani of petits fours or the Mozart of the pastry world. He doesn't spend his life pontificating; it's his macaroons that are puffed up, not his ego. The main thing is to apply intelligence to what you do.

His passion originated in Alsace, at the meeting point ot sweet confections from Germany, Belgium, Austria and France. This region is where all of these influences and techniques are concentrated; life is good there, and so is the food. But Yannick Lefort was eager to learn, and so he set out to discover new ideas.

At the age of 20, equipped with his journeyman's diploma, he went up to Paris and honed his skills with the capital's top talent. At 26, after perfecting his methods and taking evening classes at the Paris Museum of Decorative Arts, he realised that he would have to strike out on his own in order to assert his own style and his vision of enjoyable food. That is when he became head pastry chef at Maxim's Traiteur, at François Clerc, and then at 'La Grande Epicerie de Paris'.

With his tremendous creativity, he has been the first person to create many innovations:

  •  Crème brûlée with wild herbs
    (tarragon, basil, fennel, etc.)
  •  Sorbet small fry
     (20 years before molecular gastronomy)
  • Flourless biscuits
  • Chocolate apple pie with camembert
  • Pepper meringue on blackberry pie
  •  Etc …

In tune with local produce, faithful in his product choices, and with an aura of immutable skill, this hedonist converts his talent into a true lifestyle. That is why he makes pastry the way he likes it: flavourful and luxurious, fun and varied, classic and surprising, precise and contrasted. His style is simple and clean, free of needless complications.

Technique must serve us, but we should never let it hamper us.

As the fruit of this passion and determination, in 1999 Yannick and Marie Odile Lefort created a unique concept: Macarons Gourmands.

Yannick Lefort is generous by nature and would like to share some recipes with you:

Citrus pie, muscat cream, and Matcha tea

© 2007 Cyber’L

En ce moment   Nouveautés   Recettes de Yannick LEFORT   Récompenses   Parutions / Presse   Adresses et liens utiles 
 


Yannick Lefort se définit avant tout comme un artisan amoureux du beau, du bon, du vrai.


Il ne se considère pas comme le Modigliani du petit four ni comme le Mozart de la pâtisserie. Pour lui, inutile d’intellectualiser pour exister au quotidien, ce sont les macarons qu’il fait gonfler, pas son ego. Le plus important c’est l’intelligence du geste.

Sa passion est née en Alsace,  carrefour et  croisement des douceurs venues d’Allemagne, de Belgique, d’Autriche et de France. Toutes les techniques et influences se concentrent dans cette région du bon vivre et donc du bien manger. Mais Yannick Lefort, avide de connaissances, part à la recherche de nouveautés.

A 20 ans, son brevet de compagnon en poche, il « monte à Paris » et fait ses armes chez les plus grands de la capitale. A 26 ans, après avoir peaufiné ses gammes et pris des cours du soir au musée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris, il comprend que pour imprimer son style, sa vision de la gourmandise, il doit maintenant voler de ses propres ailes, et devient chef pâtissier chez Maxim’s Traiteur, chez François Clerc puis à « La Grande Epicerie de Paris ».

Précurseur dans de nombreux domaines, créatif, inventif, il est à l’origine de plusieurs innovations :

  •  Crème brûlée aux herbes folles
    (estragon, basilic, fenouil …)
  •  Fritures de sorbets
     (20 ans avant la cuisine moléculaire)
  •  Biscuit sans farine
  •  Tarte aux pommes chocolatées au camembert
  •  Meringue au poivre sur tarte aux mûres
  •  Etc …

A l’écoute du terroir, fidèle dans le choix des produits, auréolé d’un savoir-faire immuable, cet hédoniste transforme son talent en véritable art de vivre. C’est pour cette raison qu'il s’efforce de  réaliser la pâtisserie comme il l’aime ; Goûteuse et gourmande, ludique et variée, classique et surprenante, précise et contrastée. Son style est simple, épuré, sans complication inutile.

« La technique doit nous servir mais il ne faut jamais s’en embarrasser ».

Incarnation de sa passion et de son acharnement, Yannick et Marie Odile Lefort créent en 1999 un concept unique : Macarons Gourmands.

Généreux par nature Yannick Lefort vous confie quelques recettes :

Cake Gingembre fruits confits

© 2007 Cyber’L